Quick Thai Curry

Thai is one of my favorite cuisine. I really like the taste of coconut milk and tofu combination. Whenever I go out with my family I prefer to have thai curry with rice. This week I tried curry at home. I bought Few basic ingredients and as this was my first trial I tried ready-made curry paste. You can find large variety of curry paste in super markets. I tried green curry paste, which was easy to use. And I must say it came out so well, now, I am thinking to make this every once in a while for dinner. So, let’s see the ingredients.

Ingredients:

2 Tbs Ready-made Thai green/Red Curry Paste

1 can coconut milk unsweetened ( I used sweetened)

Veggies of your choice: 2 cups Broccoli florets,  10-15 small pieces of extra firm tofu, 4-5 green beans chopped, 1 medium size carrot chopped/Diced, 1/4 cup onions chopped (You can add sweet corn/baby corn, sweet potatoes)

2 basil leaves

1-2 tbs Olive oil

1-2 tsp Soy sauce

1 tbs chili sauce/ 1 small red thai chili ( finely chopped)

1 tsp grated ginger

salt to taste

sugar to taste

Method:

In a pan take few drops of oil, Once oil is hot enough add all the veggies, on medium flame fry the veggies. Stir them occasionally. Let them fry for 3-4 mins. Remove veggies from the pan.20170323_183847

In a same hot pan, add curry paste, grated ginger and coconut milk. Let them boil.

Add soy sauce, salt, sugar, chili sauce/ red thai chilies, basil  to the curry. Let them simmer on low medium heat.

Now, Thai curry is ready. Add tofu* right before serving, if you want crispy firm taste, or you can add tofu right away after curry is ready. Let them infused in curry. ( this step is variable, According to one’s preference )

I like to add roasted peanuts over the curry for crunchiness. But this is totally optional.

You can add black sesame seeds as toppings. ( Optional)

20170323_19482120170323_194807

*Tofu Preparation:

Remove tofu from pack, remove water and press firmly. You can use paper towel to dry out the tofu. Press tofu in between paper towel and remove excess water/moisture from tofu. Pat dry it and cut them into desired size.

There are two ways to prepare tofu for this dish.

One, heat the non stick pan. Make sure you use non stick pan here. Take few drops of oil and spread oil all over the pan by using brush, make sure you cover all the edges of pan. Now, add tofu pieces let them get brown for few mins, it may take 3-4 min. Flip them over and let the other side get brown for few mins as well. This method gives you the crispy texture. After both sides are done keep them aside.

Second, Add as is. This is going to give a soft texture to the dish.

-This thai curry goes perfect with Hot Jasmin rice.

Enjoy this quick recipe and give it a try.

Thank you,

PS

4 Comments

  1. Megala says:

    I love Thai curry! Thanks for the recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. PS says:

      Thank you for stopping by my blog.Give it a try!!! I am sure you will love it…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Megala says:

        Yes, will do!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.